UEFA Champions League Winners And Runner Up


UEFA Champions League (UCL) is one of the most prestigious football competition in the world. UCL is an annual football competition organized by the Union of the European Football Association (UEFA). UCL is contested by the top European football clubs that is the national league champions making it the most prestigious competition in European football.

UEFA Champions League was founded in 1955 as Europeans Champions Clubs’ Cup. It was a straight knockout competition till 1992 when the competition was rebranded to UEFA Champions league permitting multiple entrants from certain countries. While most of Europe’s national leagues can still only enter their national league champion, Europe’s strongest national leagues now provide up to five teams for the competition. Clubs that finish next-in-line in each nation’s top level league, having not qualified for the UEFA Champions League competition, are eligible for the second-tier UEFA Europa League competition.

The UEFA Champions League have been won by 22 clubs while 12 has won it more than once. The most successful club in the UEFA Champions League is Real Madrid having won the tournament for 13 times. Real Madrid is also the first team since 1992 to win the UEFA Champions League three years in a row. Spanish clubs have the highest number of wins (18times) while England and Italy are second (12times). England has the highest number of wining teams which is 5.

Here are UEFA Champions league winners and runner up till date

Most Successful Teams In UEFA Champions League History
1956 spainReal Madrid  Stade de Reims Real Madrid won 4-3
1957 spainReal Madrid  Fiorentina Real Madrid won 2-0
1958 spainReal Madrid AC Milan Real Madrid won 3-2
1959 spainReal Madrid   Stade de Reims Real Madrid won 2-0
1960 spainReal Madrid Eintracht Frankfurt Real Madrid won 7-0
1961 PortugalBenfica  Barcelona Benfica won by 3-2
1962 PortugalBenfica  Real Madrid Benfica won by 5-3
1963 italyAC Milan  Benfica AC Milan won by 2-1
1964 italyInter Milan Real Madrid Inter Milan won by 3-1
1965 italyInter Milan  Benfica Inter Milan won by 1-0
1966 spainReal Madrid  Partizan Real Madrid won by 2-1
1967 ScotlandCeltic  Inter Milan Celtic won by 2-1
1968 England cricket flagManchester United  Benfica Man Utd won by 4-1 in extra time
1969 italyAC Milan  Ajax Milan won by 4-0
1970 hollandFeyenoord  Celtic Fayenoord won by 2-1
1971 hollandAjax  Panathinaikos Ajax won by 2-0
1972 hollandAjax   Inter Milan Ajax won by 2-0
1973 hollandAjax   Juventus Ajax won by 1-0
1974 GermanyBayern Munich  Atletico Madrid Bayern won 5-1 on aggregate
1975 GermanyBayern Munich   Leeds United Bayern won 2-0
1976 GermanyBayern Munich  Saint-Étienne Bayern won 1-0
1977 England cricket flagLiverpool  Borussia M’gladbach Liverpool (3-1)
1978 England cricket flagLiverpool  Club Brugge Liverpool (1-0)
1979 England cricket flagNottingham Forest  Malmo Nottingham (1-0)
1980 England cricket flagNottingham Forest  Hamburg Nottingham (1-0)
1981 England cricket flagLiverpool  Real Madrid Liverpool (1-0)
1982 England cricket flagAston Villa  Bayern Munich Aston Villa (1-0)
1983 GermanyHamburg Juventus Hamburg (1-0)
1984 England cricket flagLiverpool  AS Roma Liverpool won 4-2 on penalties
1985 italyJuventus  Liverpool Juventus (1-0)
1986 Romania flagSteaua București  Barcelona Steaua București 2-0 on penalties
1987 PortugalFC Porto  Bayern Munich Porto (2-1)
1988 hollandPSV Eindhoven  Benfica PSV won 6-5 on penalties
1989 italyAC Milan  Steaua București Milan (4-0)
1990 italyAC Milan  Benfica Milan (1-0)
1991 YugoslaviaRed Star Belgrade  Marseille Red Star won 5-3 on penalties
1992 spainBarcelona  Sampdoria Barcelona (1-0)
1993 franceMarseille  AC Milan Marseille (1-0)
1994 italyAC Milan  Barcelona AC Milan (4-0)
1995 hollandAjax  AC Milan Ajax (1-0)
1996 italyJuventus  Ajax Juventus (4-2 on penalties)
1997 GermanyBorussia Dortmund  Juventus B.Dortmund (3-1)
1998 spainReal Madrid  Juventus Real Madrid (1-)
1999 England cricket flagManchester United  Bayern Munich Man utd (2-1)
2000 spainReal Madrid  Valencia Real Madrid (3-0)
2001 GermanyBayern Munich  Valencia Bayern (5-4 on penalties)
2002 spainReal Madrid  Bayer Leverkusen Real Madrid won 2-1
2003 italyAC Milan  Juventus AC Milan (3-2 on penalties)
2004 PortugalFC Porto  AS Monaco FC Porto (3-0)
2005 England cricket flagLiverpool  AC Milan Liverpool (3-2 on penalties)
2006 spainBarcelona  Arsenal Barcelona (2-1)
2007 italyAC Milan  Liverpool AC Milan (2-1)
2008 England cricket flagManchester United  Chelsea Man United (6-5 on penalties)
2009 spainBarcelona  Manchester United Barcelona (2-0)
2010 italyInter Milan Bayern Munich Inter (3-0)
2011 spainBarcelona Manchester United Barcelona (3-1)
2012 England cricket flagChelsea  Bayern Munich Chelsea (4-3 on penalties)
2013 GermanyBayern Munich Borussia Dortmund Bayern (2-1)
2014 spainReal Madrid  Atletico Madrid Real Madrid (4-1 in extra time)
2015 spainBarcelona  Juventus Barcelena (3-1)
2016 spainReal Madrid  Atletico Madrid Real Madrid (5-3 on penalties)
2017 spainReal Madrid  Juventus Real Madrid (4-1)
2018 spainReal Madrid  Liverpool Real Madrid (3-1)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *